Sustainability

Open Innovation Call #03

Sustainability

Open Innovation Call #03

What is the Open Innovation Call?

As part of our Open Innovation Call, we are looking within our Future Readiness Categories for innovative solutions for specific EDEKA challenges. In the first step, we penetrate these challenges by means of expert interviews in the respective departments in the EDEKA network and speak directly to business people in order to understand the challenges in a user-focused manner. This is followed by the definition of specific challenges, which we then advertise in a targeted manner in the Open Innovation Call. Every tech partner who can solve these challenges is allowed to submit their solution to us and – if the EDEKA fit is given – validate their solution in the real environment.

MARCH 2021 – CURRENT OPEN INNOVATION CALL

You have a solution for the current Open Innovation Call?

Reduction of Food Waste and Packaging

The systematic reduction of food waste and packaging is one of the central goals at EDEKA. We have been using a variety of measures for years and are constantly developing innovative and consumer-oriented solutions along the entire value chain. You can and want to make a contribution to the current and future requirements and challenges in this area? We are looking for your innovation for the practical application at our EDEKA markets!

 

Food waste

How can we effectively prevent food waste and recycle surplus goods?
Preventing food waste is a challenge for society as a whole, as losses occur in all parts of the food chain. EDEKA is therefore committed to keeping the amount of food that is thrown away as low as possible and is thus expanding its commitment to the mission against "food waste". There are some challenges to be solved along the value chain and in the markets: This starts with an optimal purchase of goods in order to avoid surplus. Correct handling of the goods to guarantee the best durability is also important. Overconsumption can also be reduced through consumer information and individual quantity offers. In addition, there is a specific need for action in order to save ultra-fresh goods (e.g. fruit, vegetables, baked goods) - whether through further processing in the market, sale at a reduced price or other innovative approaches to create recycling potential.

Packaging management

How can we pack food and purchases in the market in a resource-saving and ecologically sensible way?
As a full-range supplier, EDEKA is aware of its ecological responsibility. Resource-saving packaging management plays a decisive role here, because in Germany there is still an increasing amount of packaging waste. The aim is to offer ecologically sensible packaging for food and products on the market and to give the consumer options in order to forego more and more packaging in the future. There are three main challenges in optimizing packaging management in the long term: abandoning and reducing packaging, alternative packaging systems and the search for ecologically sensible alternatives to plastic. If it is not possible to dispense with packaging, the most important thing is an ecologically sensible use of packaging and materials. Sustainable and scalable sales packaging for immediate consumption and for packing food on site (pre-packaging) as well as for customer purchases is of interest to markets.

TIMING

Save the Dates!

KICKOFF

01. March 2021

APPLICATION PERIOD

4 weeks

DEADLINE

28. March 2021

BENEFITS

What are the advantages of partnering with EDEKA?

REQUIREMENTS

What are we searching for?

You have a tech innovation and want to be found by EDEKA merchants?

Introduce your tech innovation to us!

OVERVIEW

All Open Innovation Calls

We regularly publish calls for selected EDEKA challenges. Here is an overview of all previous topics. Regardless of the deadline, we are constantly looking for new tech innovations:

Challenges 
July 2020

  • Home Sweet Home

  • Low Touch

  • The New Local

Challenges 
December 2020

  • Recruiting

  • Retention

  • Collaboration

Challenges
March 2021

  • Food Waste
  • Packaging Management

Challenges
August 2021

  • Optimal-Shelf-Availability

Nachhaltigkeit

Open Innovation Call #03

Nachhaltigkeit

Open Innovation Call #03

Was ist der Open Innovation Call?

Im Rahmen unseres Open Innovation Calls suchen wir innerhalb unserer Future Readiness Categories nach innovativen Lösungen für konkrete Herausforderungen der EDEKA. Diese Herausforderungen durchdringen wir im ersten Schritt mittels Experteninterviews in den jeweiligen Fachbereichen im EDEKA Verbund und sprechen direkt mit Kaufleuten, um die Herausforderungen nutzerbasiert zu verstehen. Es folgt die Definition konkreter Challenges, die wir dann zielgerichtet im Open Innovation Call ausschreiben. Jeder Tech-Partner, der diese Challenges lösen kann, darf seine Lösung bei uns einreichen und seine Lösung – wenn der EDEKA-Fit gegeben ist – im Realumfeld validieren.

MÄRZ 2021 – AKTUELLER OPEN INNOVATION CALL

Du hast eine Lösung für den aktuellen Open Innovation Call?

Reduktion von Lebensmittelverschwendung und Verpackungen

Die syste­matische Reduktion von Lebensmittelverschwendung und Verpackungen ist eines der zentralen Ziele bei EDEKA. Wir setzen bereits seit Jahren vielfältige Maßnahmen dafür ein, und entwickeln stetig innovative und verbrauchernahe Lösungen entlang der gesamten Wert­schöpfungskette. Du kannst und möchtest einen Beitrag zu den aktuellen sowie zukünftigen Anforderungen und Herausforderungen auf diesem Gebiet leisten? Wir suchen nach deiner Innovation für den Einsatz in unseren EDEKA Märkten!

 

Lebensmittel-abfälle

Wie können wir Lebensmittelverschwendung effektiv vorbeugen und überschüssige Ware wiederverwerten?
Lebensmittelverschwendung vorzubeugen stellt eine gesamtgesellschaftliche Herausforderung dar, denn Verluste entstehen in allen Teilen der Lebensmittelkette. Daher setzt sich EDEKA dafür ein, die Mengen an Lebensmitteln, die weggeworfen werden, so gering wie möglich zu halten und baut damit sein Engagement in der Mission gegen "Food Waste" aus. Entlang der Wertschöpfungskette und in den Märkten gibt es einige Herausforderungen zu lösen: Dies beginnt bei einem optimalen Warenbezug, um Überschuss zu vermeiden. Auch das korrekte Handling um beste Haltbarkeit zu garantieren ist wichtig. Überkonsum kann zudem durch Verbraucherinformationen sowie individuelle Mengenangebote reduziert werden. Außerdem besteht gerade bei ultrafrischen Waren (z.B. Obst, Gemüse, Backwaren) konkreter Handlungsbedarf um diese zu retten – sei dies durch Weiterverarbeitung im Markt, Abgabe zu reduziertem Preis oder weitere innovative Ansätze um Verwertungspotenziale zu schaffen.

Verpackungs-management

Wie können wir Lebensmittel und Einkäufe im Markt ressourcenschonend und ökologisch sinnvoll verpacken?
Als Vollsortimenter ist sich EDEKA seiner ökologischen Verantwortung bewusst. Ressourcenschonendes Verpackungsmanagement spielt hierbei eine entscheidende Rolle, denn in Deutschland zeigt sich weiterhin ein steigender Anfall an Verpackungsabfällen. Ziel ist es ökologisch sinnvolle Verpackungen für Lebensmittel und Produkte im Markt anzubieten und dem Verbraucher Wahlmöglichkeiten zu geben, um in Zukunft auf immer mehr Verpackungen zu verzichten. Herausforderungen um das Verpackungsmanagement nachhaltig zu optimieren bestehen vor allem in drei Bereichen: Verzicht und Reduzierung von Verpackungen, alternative Verpackungssysteme und die Suche nach ökologisch sinnvollen Alternativen zu Plastik. Ist ein Verzicht von Verpackungen nicht möglich, geht es vor allem um einen ökologisch sinnvollen Einsatz von Verpackungen und Materialien. Für Märkte sind dabei nachhaltige und skalierbare Verkaufsverpackungen für den Sofort-Verzehr und für das Einpacken von Lebensmitteln vor Ort (Pre-Packaging) sowie für Kundeneinkäufe interessant.

TIMING

Save the Dates!

KICKOFF

01. März 2021

BEWERBUNSZEITRAUM

4 Wochen

DEADLINE

28. März 2021

BENEFITS

Welche Vorteile hat das Partnering mit der EDEKA?

ANFORDERUNGEN

Wonach suchen wir?

Du hast eine Tech-Neuheit und willst von EDEKA-Kaufleuten gefunden werden?

Stell uns deine Tech-Innovation vor!

ÜBERBLICK

Bisherige Open Innovation Calls

Wir veröffentlichen regelmäßig Aufrufe zu ausgewählten Herausforderungen der EDEKA. Hier sind alle bisherigen Themen im Überblick. Auch nach Abschluss suchen wir stetig nach neuen Tech-Neuheiten:

Challenges 
Juli 2020

  • Home Sweet Home

  • Low Touch

  • The New Local

Challenges 
Dezember 2020

  • Recruiting

  • Bindung

  • Zusammenarbeit

Open Innovation Call 03: Nachhaltigkeit: Food Waste, Packaging Management

Challenges
März 2021

  • Food Waste
  • Verpackungsmanagement

Challenges
August 2021

  • Optimal Shelf Availability